What’s important (to me) about Bobby Brown’s (latest) arrest

When I heard that Bobby Brown was arrested Monday for a DUI in San Fernando Valley, many thoughts passed through my mind.

I’m a firm believer that just because you are charged with something doesn’t mean you actually committed the crime. The words, “innocent until proven guilty” are what we live by in this country.

I mean, there is a reason why America has a legal system.

Anyway, as I read the story, I hoped Bobby wasn’t backsliding. From all appearances, he seemed to have finally pulled himself together and was doing well with his sobriety.

Then, I hoped the death of his ex-wife Whitney Houston (and everything that followed) wasn’t sending him back into his previous destructive behavior pattern.

I also considered Bobbi Kristina and how she might take the news of her remaining parent being arrested yet again.

But the thought that ended up being the most important for me? I prayed this wouldn’t interfere with him performing with New Edition on June 24, 2012.

Why, you may wonder?

Because, for one, it happens to be my birthday that day, and two, I will be celebrating my birthday with New Edition and was really looking forward to seeing Bobby perform with Ralph, Ricky, Johnny, Ronnie and Mike.

I’ve seen NE in concert a few times – sans Brown – but knowing Bobby was going to be back with the fellas makes me even more excited to see them this time around.

Actually, I’m not really all that excited, I just want to see how Bobby blends in with the rest of the group. I’m one of those fans who didn’t miss Bobby when he was kicked out of New Edition, so I think it’s going to be interesting to see the dynamic between the six.

So there you have it. I know I’m being (slightly) selfish in my thoughts about this situation,  but I really do hope Bobby emerges from this and is able to put it behind him (and be on stage June 24!).

One thought on “What’s important (to me) about Bobby Brown’s (latest) arrest

  1. Hey, at least you are being honest about your feelings (smile)! I haven’t heard any critiques of the New Edition concert yet. Hopefully, they are putting on a good show.

Leave a Reply

