Prince – the only reason to watch Billboard last night

I have just one question about the Billboard Music Awards.

What the hell was that?

Granted, it was a fast-forward affair for me last night. I missed the first hour because I forgot it was on (thanks to my sister, I was able to DVR the last two hours). But for the ladies of The View discussing Miguel’s mishap and Nicki Minaj’s raunchy dance number (my mouth was open at the end), I would not have re-watched this show.

There is only one performance I watched the entire way through – Prince. Again, but for my sister, I may have missed that as well. “Why is Prince tearing it up?!?!?!? He did a remix to ‘Let’s Go Crazy’ . . . off the chain!!!” she said via text.

And off the chain it was. I’m sure there were many in attendance wondering what was happening on stage as they just spent the better part of the night watching artist after artist after artist lip-sync over tracks. Kid Rock said it best, “Let’s give it up for people lip-syncing under pre-recorded music!”

As Prince and his all-female band performed a guitar-heavy version of the first song off the Purple Rain Soundtrack, one recurring thought kept popping up – this is real music.

It’s a rarity to see Prince at any awards show, but he was receiving the Icon Award, so I guess he figured it would be nice to show his appreciation.

Funny thing happened though, he performed and that was it.

While he was introduced by Erykah Badu and Janelle Monáe, Prince wasn’t actually presented an award.

The show just ended. And all I could think of was, Prince let his performance speak for itself.

Nothing else needed to be said.

Lastly, I did catch Justin Bieber accept the Milestone Award – which, incidentally was voted on by fans. The booing was unnecessary and he made a valid point. “I’m 19 years old. I think I’m doing a pretty good job. And basically, from my heart, I really just want to say it should really be about the music; it should be about the craft, the craft that I’m making. This not a gimmick . . . I’m an artist – I should be taken seriously.”

He went onto thank his family, and Jesus Christ.

Did you catch the Billboard Awards and, if so, what did you think?

One thought on “Prince – the only reason to watch Billboard last night

Leave a Reply

