Heavy Rotation – Didn’t Cha Know, E. Badu

It’s back! I know, I know. It has been a very long while since I’ve written a Heavy Rotation blog, but thanks to Erykah Badu, I’m back on track.

This morning I woke up and did what I always do – look for a quote of the day to send out to my Facebook friends. Today’s quote happened to be lyrics from the song Didn’t Cha Know off of Erykah’s Mama’s Gun Album.

The lyrics I posted are actually the chorus (which I have abbreviated):

“I’m trying to decide which way to go; think I made a wrong turn back there somewhere. Didn’t cha know, trying to move, but I lost my way. Didn’t cha know, stopped to watch my emotions sway. Didn’t cha know, knew the toll, but I would not pay. Didn’t cha know, that ya never know how the cards my lay.”

See, lyrics such as, “Yes I was born to make mistakes, but I ain’t scared to take the weight. So when I stumble off the path, I know my heart will guide me back,” show Erykah’s vulnerable side. There’s an openness she expresses in this song that shows she’s not perfect.

Yes, logically I know she’s a flawed human being – as we all are – but sometimes I think we forget that celebrities and artists are more like us than we choose to believe.

This song always helps me reflect on my life and the road I’m meandering down.  When I listen to Erykah sing, “free your mind and find a way; there will be a brighter day,” it gives me hope that, despite all the pitfalls, hills and valleys, the day will come when the sun will shine brighter and I that my journey was worth every tear.

See why she’s my all-time favorite artist!

Watch her perform this song live here. This performance really captures the essence of Didn’t Cha Know.

2 thoughts on “Heavy Rotation – Didn’t Cha Know, E. Badu

  1. Erykah does have a way of touching the soul! A couple of weeks ago, I was jamming to “No Love” from the first album. It used to be in heavy rotation back in college, but when I listened to it, it was like I had heard it for the first time. Matter fact … I’m about to bust it out again right now (LOL). Great artist!

  2. Great comment! I remember the first time the intention behind “No Love” hit me. I was driving back from dropping off some dude who I thought was the one and this song started playing. All I could think was, “She talking to me right about now!!!” Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

