Sometimes, you just have to let it out

Have you ever been in a situation where, you are listening to music and it’s not appropriate for you to sing along out loud, but you just bust out and do it anyway?

I recently engaged in this activity as I was listening to my “love” playlist on my iPod at the laundry mat. New Edition’s Can You Stand The Rain came on – and I just started singing – out loud.

Was I so loud that people were looking at me like, really? No, but I was loud enough that I heard my voice over New Edition’s.

And honestly, I gives a damn if anyone else heard me or was bothered.

Do I have a great singing voice? Not hardly (even though when I’m singing I pretend I sound just as good as the artist. I’m aware that’s a little delusional on my part, but who isn’t delusional at some point in their life?).

My singing voice is actually slightly off key. Well, maybe more than slightly, but I have reached the “I don’t give a damn what other people think” part of my life, so if the spirit moves me, I will continue to sing in public.

I’ve actually been singing out loud outside of the comfort of my own home a lot lately. One day while at some store, Whitney Houston’s I Wanna Dance With Somebody came on and I sure did start singing – while also two-stepping down the aisle.

The next time your song comes on when you’re standing in line at the grocery store, or you’re walking down the street listening to your iPod, do like India.Arie suggests – Just Do You! Who cares who is around or if you get some side-eyed looks.

The only thing that matters is how you feel, and I think your mood will be surprisingly lighter and happier.

One thought on “Sometimes, you just have to let it out

  1. Where I always get caught singing is in my car. Folks will pull up beside me at a light and catch me jamming to a song (smile).

Leave a Reply

