My eyes are green today

Heavy rotation logo

I’m in a Green Eyes kind of mood today.

For those who aren’t familiar, Green Eyes is a 10-minute masterpiece created by singer Erykah Badu.

And I don’t use the word masterpiece lightly.

I know of no other song that takes listeners on such an emotional roller coaster. Each lyric pulls you in, and when the song ends, you’re saying to yourself, “Erykah just captured my feelings perfectly!”

I pulled out her CD insert and discovered she actually labeled each section (or movement as Erykah calls them), with a word to describe her state of mind.

First, it’s Denial:

“My eyes are green
Cause I eat a lot of vegetables
It don’t have nothing
To do with your new friend
I don’t care
I swear
I’m too through with you
I am
You don’t mean nothing to me
So go ahead and be your friend”

You can’t help but feel the raw emotion Erykah expresses in the Acceptance phase:

“I’m insecure
But I can’t help it
My mind says move on
My heart, left behind
But I don’t love you anymore
I’m so insecure
Never knew love did this”

But of course with love, there’s sometimes The Relapse:

“Just make love to me
Just one more time and then you’ll see
I can’t believe I made a desperate plea
What’s with me?”

The song ends with the best lines ever:

“Never knew what a friendship was
Never knew how to really love
You can’t be what I need you too
And I don’t know why I fuck with you.”

And while it’s 10-minutes, the song is one you can put on repeat and never tire of.

I know, because at this very moment, I’m on my fifth listen.

I told you, it was a Green Eyes mood for me today.

One thought on “My eyes are green today

  1. Great song from a wonderful album, “Mama’s Gun.” It is one of my favorite songs and albums from Ms. Badu.

Leave a Reply

