When you don’t have much to say

  DD Rich for Work in Progress CreationsI’ve come to a point in my blogging life where I actually don’t have much to say about the latest concert I attended.

The reason? I’ve seen and written about Kindred the Family Soul and Lalah Hathaway before – several times in fact.

They were both featured artists at Oakland’s final Sunday in the Redwoods. I enjoyed myself immensely – Kindred once again radiated love and realness, while Lalah showcased her and other artist’s material.

I just don’t think I need to write an entire blog about the concert.

Thus begins something new for Soul Musings Corner – a pictorial of the show.

When I’m at a concert, I’m the photographer, videographer and note taker – all while trying to sing along and enjoy the show.

It’s a tall order, but a sacrifice I make so I can give followers an in-depth look at the concerts I enjoy.

So, welcome to my first Soul Musings Pictorial Blog (can someone please help me come up with a better name?) I hope you enjoy the photos and links to videos.

Side note: The opening act was urban jazz harmonica player Frederic Yonnet. Never heard the name? Neither had I, but he left such a great impression that I came straight home and bought his album Front & Center.

According to the bio on his website, Frederic has worked with Stevie Wonder, Prince, India.Arie, Erykah Badu, Anthony Hamilton and John Legend. Born in Normandy, France, but reared in Paris, Frederic began as a drummer, but returned to the instrument he received as a child.

Click here to see Frederic for yourself.

Click here to see Lalah’s Forever, For Always, For Love performance.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “When you don’t have much to say

  1. Kindred the Family Soul is one of my all time favorite groups and I was not disappointed on Sunday at the Redwoods!! I wish Lalah would have at least performed Let Go but after the first two acts, I was fulfilled!! Once again, excellent photos and videos…they captured the essence of a great afternoon!!

Leave a Reply

