AMAs: Another fast-forward affair

It took me 45 minutes to watch three hours of the American Music Awards last night. From what quickly zipped past my screen, I’m sure I didn’t miss much.

I’m not clear about the last time I watched this award show, but I know for sure there’s no reason for me to ever watch again.

I came to that conclusion when the category for favorite male soul/R&B was announced, and the nominees were Miguel, Robin Thicke and Justin Timberlake (the latter of the two also were up for Favorite male pop/rock. So was Bruno Mars, and he should have won, but Justin did instead).

Right after I saw Justin win for best male soul/R&B, I posted on Facebook, “What the hell?”

You mean to tell me these artists were the best they could come up with for this category?

And how fascinating it is that Robin and Justin are considered both pop/rock and soul/R&B.

As a friend of mine said on FB, “That award show gave a whole new meaning to cross-over artist.” She also pointed out that Macklemore & Ryan Lewis were nominated in both the rap/hip-hop and pop/rock categories.

This got me thinking: Just how are artists nominated for an AMA? I mean, what really is the criterion?

A quick Bing search (no, I don’t Google), turned up this:

“American Music Awards® nominees are selected from both BigChampagne’s Ultimate Chart and Mediabase. The Ultimate Chart is a ranked list of the most popular artists and songs based on a weighted combination of music sales, radio and TV broadcast, internet streaming and video viewing, and incorporating additional online metrics, including activity on social networks. Mediabase monitors more than 1,800 radio stations in 180 U.S. and Canadian markets, 24 hours-a-day, seven-days-a-week and provides vital airplay and programming information to more than 1,700 affiliate radio stations and every major broadcast group.”

While winners are, according to the AMA page at abc.com, “. . . voted on by the fans. For the seventh year in a row, winners will be determined by online voting.”

And there you have it. To be nominated, you have to sell a plethora of albums and be played continuously on radio. To win, it’s who votes for you the most.

Put another way, it’s simply a popularity contest.

Seems like the artist I enjoy aren’t popular or mainstream enough to meet the criteria set forth by the AMAs. And that, I say, is a damn shame.

BTW: A few Soul/R&B artists who released new material this year includes India.Arie (Songversation), Joe (Doubleback: Evolution of R&B) and Raheem DeVaughn (A Place Called Love).

Quickly: Thought Jennifer Lopez did a great job honoring Cuban salsa performer Celia Cruz.

Because her performances are usually quite distracting, I’ve never really paid attention to Miley Cyrus’ singing, but last night, I discovered she actually has a decent voice. Who knew? But the winking, tongue bearing, lip-syncing cat in the background was obnoxious. It felt like the damn thing was going to jump out of my TV and attack me.

Liked Lady Gaga, but could have done without R. Kelly.

Not sure how TLC fit into the 2013 AMAs, but it was a genius move to have Lil Mama sub for Left Eye during their Waterfalls performance – that is until it she started skipping over words. Left Eye’s rap is the best part of the song, so please, don’t mess it up!

So, did you watch? If so, what did you like/dislike? If not, why didn’t you check out the AMAs?

 

One thought on “AMAs: Another fast-forward affair

  1. I didn’t watch the AMAs and I haven’t watched for several years now. I remember the AMAs being a big deal when I was growing up, but I haven’t been interested in watching them for a while now. I think I’ve kinda out grown them.

Leave a Reply

