My 2014 ‘wish list’

Yesterday, I articulated what I’m most looking forward to musically in 2014. I have a few “wish list” items that would really make my year if they occurred.

They are:

Maxwell June 5 20105
Maxwell in concert in June 2010.

Maxwell: I’m dreaming (again) for another damn Maxwell album. Let’s flashback to 2009 when BLACKsummers’night was released, and he said it was to be a three-part album, with the final two already in the can. Well, we are going on almost FIVE years and no new album!

Maxwell did an interview in 2013 with Billboard Magazine on the summer release of blackSUMMERSnight, but as we already know that didn’t materialize.

Maxwell has plenty of time for Instagramming (which I don’t do, but I do follow him on Facebook, where he manages to post – quite frequently – photos of himself doing everything but preparing for the release of blackSUMMERS’night!

Come on Maxwell! The world is waiting for that SUMMER experience!

I hope he’s not on track to repeat his 8-year hiatus. Besides, new album usually equals new tour.

D'Angelo in Concert in 2012.
D’Angelo in Concert in Sept. 2012.

D’Angelo: It was September 2012 when I stood at the Sleep Train Pavilion in Concord, CA while D’Angelo gave one of the best shows I saw that year. I was sure 2013 would bring a new album, and ?uestlove (of the Roots) said in a Rolling Stone interview that the album was 99 percent done.

Well, 2013 has come and gone, and as of this writing, we’re still waiting!! Do you realize the last D’Angelo album was 2000’s Voodoo? He’s worse than Maxwell.

Geesh.

Jill Scott: In an interview last year, Jill talked about working on two albums simultaneously – The Lullaby Album, and another which she didn’t divulge the title of. She did say, however, that it was vastly different than the lullaby record.

Jill in concert October 2011.
Jill in concert October 2011.

While both are for grown folks, Jill said of the second album that, “It will be different on your ears, because I can’t stay in the same place or I’ll die. And you don’t want me to die do you? Me either, so I gotta keep moving!”

I hope these projects see the light of day this year. Read this Billboard story detailing what Jill is up to right now.

But my ultimate wish is for Jill to release a spoken-word album/DVD. She was fabulous on TV One’s Verses and Flows, and her poetry book, The Moments, the Minutes, the Hours is a must read. Jill has stated many times she’s a poet, and I’m sure you will agree that a J.S. spoken word album/DVD combo is something the world needs!

Oh, how could I forget her poem The Thickness on her Experience: Jill Scott 826+ (Live) album. The Thickness was a catalyst for me removing R. Kelly from my music library.

Speaking of that dude, when I read an article stating him and Mary J. Blige were touring this year, I was HIGHLY disappointed. Although I couldn’t find anywhere that this is actually happening (nothing was listed on Mary’s site), and Kelly might be going to jail for non-payment of child support, I highly doubt would pay see Mary in 2014 since she only released a Christmas album in 2013.

I can venture to say that she won’t be singing (or the audience wouldn’t want to hear) Little Drummer Boy, This Christmas or The First Noel.

Finally, I’m hoping for a better tour season. Yes, I already have my tickets for Bruno Mars and Ledisi, and while I attended some great shows in 2013 (India.Arie, Eric Roberson, Vivian Green and Kindred come to mind), I actually didn’t go to many shows last year.

Image by Ewek
Image by Ewek: http://www.emekstudios.com

My greatest wish is that an event such as the Sugar Water Festival (SWF) will materialize. In case you missed it back in the summer of 2005, the SWF featured Queen Latifah, Jill Scott, Erykah Badu and Floetry.

Speaking of Jill and Erykah (she’s overdue for a new project as well) both will be performing at The Essence Music Festival in New Orleans this year, so wouldn’t it be wonderful if they kept the party going and reignited the SWF? I would throw India.Arie in the mix (in place of Queen, who is busy with her daytime talk show).

And even though Floetry is no longer together, both The Floacist and Marsha Ambrosius have solo projects they could perform (the former is releasing Rise of the Phoenix Mermaid on March 18).

And, if they wanted a little testosterone, Anthony Hamilton would fit nicely under the SWF banner, or throw Outkast in there (that’s a purely selfish but great thought).

What’s on your wish list for 2014 musically?

2 thoughts on “My 2014 ‘wish list’

  1. I totally agree with this list! Maxwell is an all time favorite of mine. I can’t wait for his next album to drop. I’ve seen him every time he’s gone on tour.

Leave a Reply

